September 19th 2005

Autumn Dayz

Autumn Equinox

At the autumnal equinox (Sept. 22, 2005, 6:23 P.M. EDT), the sun appears to cross the celestial equator, from north to south; this marks the beginning of autumn in the Northern Hemisphere.

Soooo... WHAT does this mean for YOU?

First, there's a beautiful Harvest Moon appearing at dusk. You know the brightly colored orange irredescent and large that is a reminder that Pumpkins and Falling Leaves with a gust of wind is here.

On this day, the sun rises exactly in the east and sets exactly in the west, and day and night become the same length. From this day on, days begin getting shorter than nights in the Northern Hemisphere.

Then, there's the reasoning behind this on a spiritual note:

September 21 - Autumnal Equinox - Harvest Home

Below is information for your enjoyment!

Scroll down to THE GOOD STUFF, if you want to know about my LIFE.. rofl.


In many mythologies, this is the day the Sun God, the God of Light, is killed by his rival and dark twin, the God of Darkness - who was born at Midsummer, reached puberty at Lammas, and lives a mirror-image life of the Sun God. From this mid-Autumn day forward, darkness will be greater than light, just as night becomes longer than day. So it is a festival of sacrifice, including that of the Sun God in his aspect of Spirit of the Fields, John Barleycorn - for this is the final grain harvest. The Christian religion adopted it as 'Michaelmas', celebrated on the alternative date September 25, the old equinox date (Old Harvest Home).

Also known as Harvest Home, this Sabbat is named for Mabon , the Divine Youth of antiquity who was hidden yet ever remains as the Sun. His name literally means 'son'. Mabon (Harvest Home, Autumn Equinox) is a celebration of Thanksgiving for the blessings and abundance of the year, for the food, clothing and shelter which sustains us now and will continue to sustain us through the quiet, dark months of Winter. We celebrate the manifestation of the fruits of our labors and look forward to rest and repose after the harvesting. It is the time of the last preparations before the coming of darkness in Winter. As such, it is also the time to prepare the spirit for an interval of introspection and inner growth.

Mabon falls during the astrological sign of Libra, the sign of the Scales of Balance. Thus the energies of this time are those of balance, consideration and fruitful partnerships. Mabon is particularly sacred to Cerridwen, water oriented Goddess of Autumn, to whom was entrusted the guardianship of the Seeds of the future and the arts of Prophesy. She is able to look into the mysteries of the dark of winter and of the Otherworld. Her symbol is the Cauldron and her sacred fruit is the Apple. All nuts and seeds are sacred to her. Cernunnos in His role as Lord of Darkness and protector of all things wild and free was given to him the gifts of life by Cailleache, the crone aspect of Cerridwen, at this time of year.

NOW for the Good Stuff!

The past few weeks have been a bit hectic. With my Dad's Birthday on the 7th of September, we took him out to the "Hungry Hunter" this past weekend, he was quite pleased. I'll have to post pics later. There was a table of about 15 of us, eating steaks, prawns, scallops and calamari. Bottles of wine were ordered and I managed not to have a drop as I had to get up and register for my FALL 2005 Classes at 9am the next day.

That went fairly well, I switched departments realizing that I already had an MA in Experimental Performance, and I could go to the Creative Inquiry Dept. and take other classes that coinsided with what I'm about to do next.

Soo... what am I about to do?

Thinking of writing a book that has to do with the effects of color, light, sound and movement have on us humans, in a metaspirutal sense. This should be "interesting" as when I described it to my mother she GASPED! You see, she is ashamed of me because this isn't something she knows how to brag to her friends about her daughter in comparison.

YOU KNOW...

My son is a DOCTOR, or my daughter is a LAWYER... WEll.. My Daugher is a FAT Performing Artist, Buddhist Priest that Paints, Writes about shyt I can't explain and gives spiriutal consultations for Donations OR FREE to whomever asks.. DUHHHH.... this sounds Delightful.

And most noteworthy that at my age, as this woman quoted at the birthday dinner this weekend saying this to my nephew. "Don't wait til you get to be 50 before you get your Master's Degree" She snickered rolling her eyes whilst looking at me.

Well.. I'm NOT 50, but she is... so I freakin guess it pisses her off that she can't do the same and she has to move to Washington, DC away from her friends because her husband got a New Job. NOT MY FAULT! Funny how people make your accomplishments seem like a "What the Fruck" sort of statement about YOUR Life. The one that YOUR Living and Enjoying. NOT something that they're NOT Doing with Theirs. Because They are TOO Afraid of what people might think!

OH DEAR... You Fat Old Bastard... your Educated! AND you can READ My MIND! SHEEEEET! tee hee

I'm here at the Media Lab right now.. gotta go do some work. Yeah, this IS my JOB and I gotta learn Pro Tools so I can recored audio.

Hugz n Lub, Bebe da FairyGodMum