2004-08-16

A Day Like today.. in da Life of PizzaLand

Pizza Madness..

The Reason WHY I Have to Find Another JOB...

The Owner is Selling the Business September 1st.

Well, this may be a good thing for him IF he get's the money from the guy who promises to buy the joint. Seems no money has exchanged hands. But still, I'm told this is going to happen.

I guess today, would have been a good day. As I talked to him on the phone, he reassured me the New Owner is "Most Likely" going to keep the same staff... Well, at least until he figures out how to make Pizza's.

Yes, I did say PIZZA's

This educated gurl got laid off a few year's back with the e-conomy. And no one has offered me a solid job working at a reasonable place. So much for private schools, doing a good job or being qualified.

As a result, I HAD to get something to just make ends almost meet. Wouldn't you know it, just 2 blocks away I asked this small Mom & Pop Shoppe IF they needed ANY Extra Help!

At that time it seemed like a good thing to do and decided that IF I got the Job, everything would be alright.

After I started working there in the evenings, still searhing for a permanent position, I realized that I had Entered the nanananana... "Twilight Zone".

Apparently the girl I was replacing was a Speed Freak, and my coworker had just begun his daily grind there Only ONE Week Earlier than me! So here we were both newbies in Pizza Zone.

Soooo.. WHO Needs Anger Management?

The Boss HATED the Business, kept throwing Cheeze and assorted Vegetables cursing the "F" Word as in every other OK ok.. Every WORD!.

Did I Forget to mention the drivers were NOT Admitting to be Addicts, are always Sick, Never feeling well, or "Tweeking" so they tell me. As I have never been around such people or an environment, I cried real tear's everyday wondering WHY the Buddha or the Universe could possibly happen to know that this would be a good place for me.

Then I realized,

  • All the Pizza I Could EAT! YES, I remember worse dayz starving as an artist but never dayz where there were angry, disatisfied, dysfunctional blah blah blah.
  • I could give FREE Pizza to the homeless or just hungry people who couldn't afford a slice, and
  • Go to school in the meantime, well at least to update my skills to become a valuable employee.

    Changing the Energy Can Do Wonders

    I kept my positive attitude no matter how much I cried. The work was hard, my fingernails haven't looked the same, and my back hurt.. sob sob.. but still I Smiled while everyone around me frowned.

    However, I came to realize... Even a Lowly Pizza Maker, who makes $3 a day in tips, (The driver never tips the pizza makers, so we are left with what the walk-in's leave.) while at the same time putting Smiles on those Pizza Lover's of the Haight Ashbury District's Faces, and Warming their Tummy's with Good Vibes.... You See I pray over Every Single Pizza.

    They LOVE My Pizza!!

    Here they come in droves, the regulars like the "Twins" the "Cutie Pies" of the Neighborhood... OH.. Didn't I tell You.. LOT'S OF MEN EAT PIZZA! And Lot's of Mother's with the Cutiest Babies in da World.

    Then Comes a DAY Like Today.

  • The Driver was Tweeking.
  • Say's he got a flat tire and had to deliver pizza's in his truck.
  • Delivers 1 pizza but takes and HOUR to drive 4 blocks away.
  • Comes back and picks up 4 more pizza's to and forget's to take with him their ADDRESSES!
  • Comes back and hour later to get them without a word.

    People are calling for their HOUR Late Pizza's and all I could say is "I'm Sorry".

    Then he turns in his reciepts and there's some funny plastic twisted Boogie Baggie thing that my coworker throws at me while Screaming UGHHHHHH!!!

    I Yalped thinking it's a Used Condom, but explains to me as she opens it looking carefully that there's a little powder in thar.

    Holy Fruck!

    I picked it up and smelled it. Was kind of a burnt scent, so I came to the assumption that it was some sort of smoking white stuff.. take a guess. Then while we were in the Back Room he comes back to pick up the last delievery... BTW, the guy waiting for this pizza had already called 3 Times, wondering is it coming? So, we assure him it will be there shortly, afterall the driver left to deliever it 40 minutes ago and it was ONLY 1 Pizza.

    So NOW I have to call my Wonderful Boss and let him know of the fiasco this evening... For some reason he's been really pleasant to me all this year. Think it's the prayer's I've been doing for him. Hopefully his life is changing for the better. You see he's REALLY a nice guy, just has some dissatisfaction issues.

    He takes all of this Crazy New's surprisingly well. Also, I managed to appologize to most of the customer's whole heartedly with discounts and your Next Time FREE Pizza Thing - and This Has NEVER Happened Before.. Which seems to Work!

    Then I remember.. Tuesday is My Bosses Birthday no WONDER he was in a good mood!

    As my coworker and I recapped the evening, we decidedly gathered that this driver guy... probably gave that last pizza in exchange for a score, cause we got the call, WHERE's MY PIZZA.

    He didn't deliver that last pizza.

    And he didn't come back with any money to put in the drawer an hour later... Then after we thought about it for awhile we figered that he intentionally messed up the scooter clutch, had to blame it on something so he gave it a flat tire and most likely freaked with a prostitute while on duty as he delivered the late pizza's in his truck!

    Fortunatly we were ONLY $11 dollars short in daily tally's. After I didn't ring in a few to compensate for the discounts and Freebies.

    Whew.. and You Wonder WHY this FairyGodMum is Granting Wishes... CAUSE PEOPLE NEED THEM! But I can't help those who FIRST Can't Help Themselves. I mean.... living a positive life, doing something for other's. And NOT Allow themselves to be Self Centered.

    Hard as it may be to change ones Vices, Change is Good!

    Why NOT Start Today... Do something Nice for Someone with a Smile and Don't Look for ANYTHING IN RETURN.

    As I am sincerely VERY Grateful that I have a job, making people smile with excellent gourmet pizza, and am given the time to attend the local college to take some Web Design, Animation and Digital Editing Courses.. and NOW Even may have the chance to get a Master's Degree.... Wish Me Luck! And YOU Stay Positive cause I'm prayin for All of Ya'ALL!!!

    Hugz n Lub, Bebe, da Fairy God Mum