July 8th 2008

Birthday Miracles and back aches

Ever Skip a Year?

Have you ever wondered where the year went? Well, this past year was more like a leap year. meaning that I thought I was a year older.

My birthday was this weekend, I always celebrate on the 4th of July. But as I started doing the math... I realized that I was not a year older but a year younger? So, this year I'm repeating the same age I was last year! Does that make any sense? They say that one forgets how old one is after you turn the big half century. I confess, that's TRUE!

At my Bday party which happened to take place on the 5th of July, both of my parents attended with their significant others. It was the first time in history that I've seen both of my parents at my brothers house together. Of course after my Mom arrived, my Dad only stayed with his wife for another 20 minutes. But those few minutes were a brief moment in history I'll forever remember and keep reminding my brother and his kids as to how precious this moment really was.

To move on with the story here a bit... We had a BarBQ at my brother's. I invited a few friends and of course the family. We played music, danced around the pool then the Best Birthday Present Happened.

My nephews fiance pushed my brother into the pool. He's always taunting everyone with his pranks that finally someone got him back! I huged her graciously and his wife said that he finally got what he deserved. I agreed, as a tortured sibling I still jump and yelp if someone sneaks up behind me.

On the fourth, I stayed home and watched fireworks on TV... mother nature called and I really didn't feel like getting out. I actually didn't feel like going to my own birthday party, but I mustered up the strength.

I do have another surprise... my Ex boyfriend who moved to New Mexico, sent me a laptop computer for my birthday. It arrived last Thursday in a huge box via UPS. I was so shocked that he would send me something so expensive. Apparently he had bought a new computer and thought of me who really.... really needed a new one. I had talked to him last month or so whining about my puter crashing. Even though the one he sent is two years old, my puter is more than ten! It has wifi and I downloaded firefox. I'm so excited... I can finally get some graphics work done easily. Kewl Huh?

I tell ya, it pays to be nice to people. He was a nice person and we were good friends, still are. And I do miss him even though it's been years since he moved.

The rest of my life has been pretty good even though I'm still looking for a job. My unemployment ran out and money is really tight. The good news is, I got a letter from the IRS stating that my stippend check should arrive by Friday. That should pay for a few bills and keep me going till August. Living month to month is interesting. Would be nice to get an interview for a good job. I'm volunteering for a video project downtown. It's fun and at least I have something to do.

Gotta get to the gym after I threw out my back a few weeks ago working out with weights. Had to chill and let the spasms go away. Now my belly got bigger since the sit ups are painful. Hopefully I'll be able to get my back cracked in another week. Slipped my disk trying to get younger. Oh yeah, the fountain of youth only works if you are working on it.

So, I had three miracles (Parents together, a puter and my brother in a pool) a little hard work (video project), partying (BDay) and pain (Back ache).

This time last year I was in Vegas. Celebrating 7-7-07. This year 8-8-08 will be the Olympics. I wonder what 9-9-09 will be. Hopefully I'll be 20 lbs lighter, gainfully employed and with significant other. That would be nice!

Hugz n Happy 4th of July with Lub, Bebe da FairyGodMum