October 16th 2005

Mom's BDay & Once a Month Weekend Classes

A Few Pics

For your viewing pleasure... here are just a few pics.

Me and My Mom on her 80th Birthday last night.

My MA Graduation Photo in August 2005. Can you tell I was stressed out?

Here is my beautiful cousin and her Mom on her 80th BDay Party 2 weeks ago. I'm Sitting trying NOT to look Seasick aboard Forbes Island. See the lighthouse and sea lions below at Pier 39 in Fishermans Wharf that's the so called island.

I was turning blue from motion sickness. That's NO Island at all.. it's a BOUY!

San Francsico Bay, view from Pacific Heights last week

Views of Geary Street and Downtown from nearby my house on Lone Mountain.

Mom loved the painting I gave her as a gift.

We went to the Fairmont Hotel's "Tonga Room" Restaurant/Bar. This is where the "Original" Rat Pack used to hang out. It looks like a rainforest with straw tikki huts and a REAL Rain pouring down around a live band which sits upon a boat that floats out on a pond.

Then we started to go to the NEW DeYoung Museum in Golden Gate Park for the Opening of the African Arts Exhibit which began at 11pm.

The dancer from my show was performing, but there was a LINE Outside that was 3 Blocks Long! So, we decided NOT to wait. Besides, this is the weekend that I have classes all day Friday, Saturday and Sunday.


The "N" Word Hurts.. and that's from an EDUCATED Black Woman!

There is more about the controversy that occured in my class last weekend, that the teacher asked me to meet her after class today. I asked her if I was getting expelled. She said no.

Did I mention this instructor is a woMAN. She asked me to appologize and to write a letter. I'm guessing she's going to want me to read it to the class. However I don't think that what I'm writing is what she had in mind. As I recall, I was called many names, then when I compared what was said to ME in "Other" terms, everyone pointed a finger at me as if what 6 people said was okkie dokkie. But you see... the "N" word has been said to me more than one million times and then IF ONCE in your life someone calls you a "MFWB" and this upsets YOU?.. Well, NOW You KNOW How it FEELS! Behind my back my NEW nickname is "MF Blaack Beeatch"


Performance Art History

In this same class we had a guest come in. Her name is Annie Sprinkle. She used to be a lady of the night turned performance artist. Here in SF and in Europe she would go to the park and let people look at her cervix/uti with a flashlight with a speculum inserted. She also douches before the performance in front of the audience. Today she showed video tapes and slides of her life and how she transformed herself into being more of a Spiritual Person... performing her seven years of Love Art Lab. While getting married each year for seven years as art... Then everyone onstage does these THINGS in front of a live audience.

Today she performed her Boob Ballet to some classical music. She also gave me her "Aphrodite Award for Artistic & Cultural Contribution to the Sex Worker Community and to the rest of Society" in honor of me doing my MA tribute to the Barbary Coast Saloon. Others in the class also received certificates for various contributions.

A Few Weeks ago I bought one of those pink rubber braclets at Walgreens for the fight against breast cancer.

Today, she told us that she has bc. The chemicals in her body made her bloated, that she felt a bit fatigued, not to mention what it did to her beautiful hair. She's working on a new show and she just came out with a new book. Ironic as her livelihood is all about her boobies... as she mentioned. Having some of the most beautiful ones I've ever seen might add. And believe me, I'm not attracted to women. I just appreciate beautiful bodies. I feel for her as she is going through Chemo. Hugz and healing goes out to Annie.


Which do you value more... MOM or POOCH?

Here's even MORE about how my brother complained and fussed about the cost of dinner last night. He must have nagged for an hour and a half before he ordered dinner. (Somehow he doesn't mind paying someone $1,0000. for a German Shepard. But buying my Mom a dinner for $26 he just wouldn't let up! Guess What? Mom ONLY ordered an $11. salad, she shared it with her bf who had the salmon and nibbled from his plate. I had Sea Bass, shared it with everyone. My nephew had chicken shared it with no one. My brother and his wife shared a chicken stir fry together, a chinese chicken salad and small rice together. Ate Very Little of theirs, tasted everyone elses got so full that they couldn't finish what they ordered and took it home. OMG!!!

Well... El Tight-O Cheapo ended up paying for the bill. 6 of us, but NOT after manageling who was going to eat what into the cheapest meal possible ($200.) I warned him in advance that it was an expensive place. Wish my cousin was here, I bet he wouldn't have complained one bit! Gosh he's such a grouch that I winched and starred him straight in the eye and said "Greed" The Lord Giveth, The Lord Taketh Away! He knew what that meant and he stopped complaining.

I'll leave you with happy thoughts. The day ended with me going home with a bouquet of Sunflowers leftover from yesterday's art class. It was a sign from the heavens that LOVE is right in my hands and they comforted my soul after a VERY stressful weekend.

Hugz n Lub, Bebe da FairyGodMum