May 19th 2008

Bay to Breaker Race to the Temple

Grand Opening

Yesterday's Grand Opening of the NEW Temple was absolutly Wonderful!!!

After a long wait... one of my friends had to cross town via taxi to my house, as the Bay to Breakers Race was going on. Seems like it took him forever to get here as we (meaning me and another friend) waited for him. Then we had to go pick up a third party who waited for about an hour for us to pick her up. That doggone race made traffic slow as a turtle on a treadmill (going nowhere fast).

Then the four of us rode 50 miles to the new temple rushing trying not to get a speeding ticket as we were soooo very late. You see the third party was a participant and was supposed to get there at 10am. Well... we got there around lemme seeeee.... 10:58am? With two minutes to spare, the security team at the gate shouted at me... "You Can't Park Here".

Well.. everyone was supposed to park at another location and catch a shuttle bus to the temple.. no way possible could I get there in time. So I shouted back we were in the production. He shouted back.. "You Need a Parking Permit" So I said.. "I'll get one" So my friend with the taxi ran out to ask someone about a parking permit, the other girl in the show ran to change her clothes and the third party looking puzzled asked what should I do?

I had to change into my priest robe, as my friend from New York.. btw who is staying with me saved seats for two of us inside the main area. Then this lovely man came out of nowhere, told me... "Don't worry, I'll take care of your car, you just get in there NOW! I'll get a parking permit for you." Then another man came around with the permit, I changed into my priestess robe, and hurried into the main altar area. OMG!!!

We got to the door and without a moments breath they told us... don't worry about a ticket.. just get in there! You see, everyone was supposed to have a ticket, and of course no one should be late. And there I was... the ONLY Black Woman in a priests robe LATE! They even saved seats for us right next to my Mother, her BF my friend from NYC and his two friend. We all sat in the same row... and Guess What????

We were sitting in the SECOND ROW!

OMG!!!! Best Seats in da House! Then the chanting started and then I looked up. There was the Head of the Order in all Her Holiness sitting at the main seat of the altar looking radiant as the sun, moon and stars all combined into one. As I nudged my mother's BF, he nodded off quite a bit. I looked up at the TV monitor and there I saw my mug on the big screen. OMG!!!! I'm on Camera!!! My mother too, her BF and my good friend sitting next to me. How awesome is that!

The new temple is ... well... there are no words to describe how beautiful it is. Our hearts were and still are filled with joy as we embraced the moment. We all wanted to capture, grasp, make every second last as if for a lifetime.

I can only tell you this... Live every moment in the present as if it were a gift from the Source of All Creation, and Love Compassionatly.

Hugz n Lub, Bebe da FairyGodMum