October 5th 2006

I LOVE MY JOB.. now repeat that 10 times

It's a JOB

They tell me that when you haven't worked in a long time not only does your brain get a workout, but so does your feet.

Driving 100 miles a day, bay bridge traffic, arriving at 6, or 7 or 8am isn't as bad as I thought it would be. Everyday, or almost everyday, I have a different schedule. I even work nights sometimes, closing the store at around 10:30pm. I guess it's the getting up at 5am that I haven't gotten used to. Then there's the compendium of people.

You could guess at such a Big Retailer, that the people working such a job REAAALLLYYYY need a J-O-B.

And your guess would be right! There's the young mother's with one - five kids. There's the older immigrants who barely speak any English. And there's the middle aged American's who for some reason or another decided that this was the job that they would do til they retire. Go Figer!

I'd rather be in bed with the covers over my head sleeping the day away dreaming of how I'd pay my bills. Yeahh RIGHT! And IF you believed that... you'd be darn tootin Wrong! Honey Child, I'd rather be amongst the working class people, you know regular folks who gotta work for a living, barely getting by. WHY? Well... you see, these are the ones that are searching for real life. They not only live in the real world, but they work their asses off just to make a few bucks and pay ohhh sooo many bills.

I think I finally get IT. Standing on ones feet walking, let's say 8 miles a day, back and forth throughout the store has worked off at least 10lbs from my derriere. My middle part and upper parts need an equal workout, but my lower parts are barking. Woof WOOOOOOFFFFFFFFFF!!!!!

Sheeat, gurl.. you could say that everyday, I never walked so far in my life as I have in the past 2 weeks. Lifting, carrying, pulling, tugging.. boxes, clothes, carts, fixtures. Soaking da feet just makes them MORE Swollen. And they still ache!

Ok.. Ok... I'm NOT complaing... just that... being grateful for a few bucks, a driving mobile, and entertainment everyday is somethin else. And that somethin else gets me up every morning at the crack of dawn. I have always appreciated Chaos Daily, as her life emulates the ultimate determined individual who works her butt off. Not ONLY do I respect these individuals, but I totally Get Why one does it. I believe it's something called satisfaction for a job well done. Accomplishment, and appreciation from other's and more than anything, from ones self. Ya gotta have self appreciation... I tell ya. Not just for the little stuggles, but for life. It's like growing up one day to find out that your not all that, then give in to your own mistakes, misjudgements and mismanagement.

Some people arn't fair, and I'd like to think that I try to be. At least as a manager. BUT... IF you act a fool, curse people out, walk like a snail or are just plain mean... Uhhh... having to keep open communication, whilst maintaining respect is a challenge. I don't take crap when it's dished out, and I'll call you on it directly or indirectly. Just as long as you get the message that Miss B is in town and she don't take no crap.

In other words, I'm a nice person, but if nice don't work for you, we will find something that does. That is... to get the JOB done.

Hugz n Lub, Bebe da HardWorkinGodMum Woof Woof