October 6th 2004

This town's amazing history

Barbary Coast

So.. I've decided to do my thesis project on San Francisco's Rich History.

Here I am sitting at school in this hot computer lab. I'm just about to meet my counselor regarding this project. I've got about 20 minutes to do this diary log and touch basis with you guys.

My research is based on what we now know as "Old Town". When the Spaniards, Dutch and Austrailian seamen ported here, imagine... there were No Women. Except for a few Native American Oholone Indian's. They built this town not knowing there was GOLD in them thar hills.

I just came from Mission Dolores where many of Yerba Buena's founding father's lay to rest. I could recognize the street names... Arguello, Liedesdorff, Sutter, Montgomery as I've been there many times... but now I'm looking at them with New Insight!

I Plan to take a Walking Tour of the Barbary Coast Area... UNION Street named after the "Union Army", Maiden Lane... where the Red Light District was, GOLD Street.. where they weighed the Gold discovered in 1849 and the Maritime Museum.

The "Thesis Play" setting will be a Barbary Coast Saloon.

There will be a host of performers... a Jazz Singer... Tap Dancer... Can Can Girls.. and Black Bart.. who held up Wells Fargo's stagecoachs. Making off with Gold and Money value in today's market of about 3 Billion Dollars!

Well Folks.. I've got to go meet my advisor... wish I could chat longer, but I'll be back sooner than later!

Big Hugz n Lub, Bebe da FairyGodMum