January 8th 2009

Guardians of Heaven and Earth

Temple Nite

Tonight I went to the temple in Redwood City. It used to be a Catholic Church, so I always feel like I'm doing the two bird thing with one stone.

It's such a beautiful temple with lovely lighting and incredible stained glass images of the Buddhas life. Our group hosted the evenings service. We do MC, greeting people, signing up folks for meditation training, checking the cleanliness of bathrooms and such. I was one of the greeters handing out translation headphones, then after the service I assisted with the meditation training.

Simply put it was a nice service. The day to show Gratitude for the Guardians of Heaven and Earth.

Then after the service, we gathered together for a reflection meeting, talking about tonight's experiences. Basically everyone got along pretty good. We host the service with other groups or lineages. I always like this service as I feel that the guardians are always protecting us and watching over us. We receive so much guidance in our every day lives from the guardians and we don't even realize it or appreciate it. Taking so many things for granted.

So when we do this service I feel as though in my own little way I am showing my appreciation towards them deep inside my heart. And truly I am.

After the service, I drove some people home, and went out to dinner with one of the girls as we couldn't stop talking after we got to her house. We ate at a Chinese restaurant on Polk Street. We both had the Chicken (white meat) with Black Bean Sauce. It came with a small salad and soup and some nice hot tea. We must have talked for about an hour or more, but I could see she was getting really tired, so we said our goodbyes and if she ever needs a ride again, I'd be glad to do so.

Funny, our conversation was mostly about our experience in this teaching, then it switched to men and our commitment to making an impact in the world and how could we do so at our level. It's very difficult to get along with people you don't know or can't stand, but in this practice we have learned that most difficulties with others stem from our inability to accept people as they are, not for what we want them to be. Also, we are able to have services that offer prayers for our ancestors, family members, friends and foes alike without distinction. This somehow creates harmony among people who ordinarily wouldn't get along. Hopefully impacting the world on a global scale.

I know I don't talk much about my experiences in the teaching as many things are esoteric and the only way to explain it is by experiencing it yourself.

Prayers for World Peace

Click link or copy and paste this: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pDPJLDviAeM

All I can say is that practicing it to purify my karma, my ancestors karma and the karma of those around me... I have seen. It has changed the lives of people as I talk to them everyday. It's amazing that people who wouldn't give me the time of day or listen to my rants, silently smile or give a friendly greeting.

I feel very hopeful that the world could, should will change. That world peace is possible, and that many other people would be able to experience the peace, love and joy I feel in my heart everyday. Thank you Guardians, and thank you founders of this teaching so that many other people can change their karma for the better.

Hugz n Lub, Bebe da FairyGodMum