October 22, 2007

Vertigo

I'm Dizzy

The last time I heard that line was when we were talking about someone that didn't have it all together UpStairs... uhhh in da head. IF you know what I mean. To quote: "Dizzy Damme"

Now I'm NOT talkin about that kinda dizzyness. We're talkin about how the room moves when your NOT!

NO... I'm NOT drunk! Woke up last Monday and the room was spinning. Oh, and I couldn't drive to work. Righttttt... now you get it. So, the rooms spinning, I"m not drunk and I'm thinking why me?

Vertigo

That's what they call it. So after sleeping most of two and a half days hoping/praying that it would stop it occured to me that it was time to go to the doctor. Dagnabbit. you know I no longer have health insurance after leaving Big Retailer. Yep, it sucks a big stick. To be faced with health issues and no insurance.

So, I head off to General Hospital. NOPE not the soap opera, SF General. So, I get there around 4pm, it was like a welfare line. Not the line to see the nurse, but the waiting room. Homeless people sitting around watching TV pulling dollars outta their pockets to deposit into the vending machines. They got more money than me! I had maybe 2 bucks to waste on soda pop. I brought food in my purse just in case it would take longer than 6 hours. And fortuantely I brought a big wool skarf just to keep warm. Cause it got COLDDDDDD late at night.

Ya see, the doctors didn't pull me onto a bed in the hallway until 5am. Yep a 13 hour wait! Sick people; with no money got it bad.

There was a stabbing and some kind of accident the night before. The Resident doctor told me that they had to divert all ambulances to other hospitals cause this one was full.

After they asked me a few questions took my blood pressure I waited until the resident talked to the ER doctor. He came in the room and told me that I had an inner ear infection. They didn't give me any antibiotics. Wierd huh! Gave me a few pills which made me sleep, put me in a temporary room and shut off the lights. Guess they felt bad since I waited more than a 1/2 a day.

Had to have a note to give my job as to why my butt can't drive to work. Although I did have to move my car for street cleaning. I was scared. It's like driving drunk but with less control. Luckily I found a spot on the Monday street cleaning side. So my car sat there all week. Then today (Sunday) I moved it to a Thursday street cleaning side. You see living in San Francisco has its perks. There is two hour parking limits on every side of the street but one. (That's on the Monday side) And street cleaning on a different day of the week on every corner except Friday. (I don't know why tha is so.) Even though I have a parking permit to park beyond the two hour limit, I have to move my car cause a street cleaning ticket is about 45 bucks.

So... I'm still dizzy and it's Sunday night. I'm not going to risk driving to work tomorrow. The pills they gave me make me sleepy. My Mom came by Thursday to take me to the Pharmacy so I could get those dizzy pills and she took me to the grocery store. Of course her idea of grocery shopping is ONLY healthy food. (Fruit, Vegetables, Yogurt, Brown Rice and a roasted chicken from Costco.) Yum, yum... good eatin's. Too dayum healthy, now I'm craving chocolate chip cookies and salty snacks.I made a pot of chicken soup even though I don't feel like an ear ache, chicken soup cures all.

I wrote an entry during the week but it crashed and disapeared, so this is the first time I felt good enough to type. And yep... I'm still dizzy. It's like being drunk for a week and a half without the alcohol. I'm getting really tired of this. They gave me some names of other free clinics/doctors think I'll call one tomorrow, maybe they'll give me better drugs.

Hugz n Lub, Bebe da FairyGodMum