2007-09-26

Not another FISH Story?

...said the fish

So yesterday was my first day of work at the PetStore.

I got a call the day before by my friend the store manager and she asked me to start work the very next day. I didn't get to complete my Fall Cleaning Project but at least I'll have time after work to do whatever I want. I'll have weekends off, which is something MORE than miraculous and no more nights. Well, at least unless I want to.

I'm so happy at the moment that I have a job that is practically stress free it's unbelievable. Even though today was spent watching training videos, walking around the store getting to know the layout and eating pizza to celebrate an Employees Birthday and another being Employee of the Month!

So, one of my first projects was to get to know the animals and products. I walked around the store with the little handout where I'm to fill in the blanks with information such as: Name Three Types of Tropical Fish. And, Name Three Different Semi-Agressive Fish.

Guess you'll be reading a lot of FISH Stories from this point on?

Well... What do YOU expect ehhh?

Anyways, looking at the fish I was instantly reminded of one of my ex boyfriends. He gave me his fish before he moved to New Mexico. This fish was a female and managed to outlive all of her lovers. She was quite a sturdy fish as I didn't know alot about managing water systems she had to endure alot.You see I had always cared for cats and dogs but I had never taken care of fish before.

Do you know that this fish lived with him for at least 7 years. She lived with me for another 6 until I made the mistake and changed her water not knowing how to acclimate her to the new environment. Sorry to say that she didn't survive the night even though I did my best to save her. She went into shock, old and feeble that she was.... and I still have her frozen in my freezer because I forgot to put her in a box and bury her in the backyard like most people do. Time to clean the fridge huh?

I was reminded of this today as I walked past the tanks of fish and saw some floaters. The Good News is that at the PetStore they will spend hundreds of dollars trying to save a critters life before euthanizing.

Parrots, Cockatiels, Rats, Reptiles, Cats and Turtles.

Today the manager I'll call her "Sister Gurl" as she is an Asian Woman who recently married a Vietnamese guy but acts like a Black Woman. That's cause she said she had mostly dated Black Men. She said that she wasn't sure that I was Black! That is sooo funny. I know I'm light skinned, but I've never had anyone tell me that before, better get some self action tanning lotion quick! Guess as she puts it, I'm easy to talk to. That was one of the Best Compliments I've ever gotten. So when I left today I said to her...."See Ya Later... Sista!" She cracked the weirdest smile like she was finally accepted as a Sista! Way kewl huh.

So she say's, I'm going to put you down for "Pet Care Associate" because you care so much about pets. Congratulations, FairyGodMum, you have just been promoted from "Dog Bather" YIPPIEEEEE I'm going to make those pets look adorable and comfortable.

Then I told her... That I'm a "Pet Psychic" also a "Baby Psychic" but that's another story. Those RATS in the cage... are so bored and the poor birdies need some TLC and I'm not talkin the singing group. Okayyyy. Gotta get to bed.. Niters Peeps. Hugz n Lub, Bebe da FairyGodMum