May 1st 2007

Good Karma on the Way

Fire Ritual

Went to Los Angeles last weekend with my Mom. We took a tour bus from San Francisco with about 4 other bus loads. Stayed at the Heritage Inn, (Just an average hotel) and my first time staying on the first floor of any hotel. It was quite and a normal stay, but not a luxurious hotel which would have been lovely.

The next day was the ritual, where more than 1,000 people watched. There was a full orchestra that played tunes from West Side Story and My Fair Lady. Quite different than any of the other ceremony's that I've attended. There were also dancers from every nationality all together performing on one stage. Let me see if I can describe it....

Coperiera, Hip-Hop, Marial Arts, Japanese, Spanish (Spain) Flamenco, African, Mexican, some lady with a sword, another lady with fast hips. I hope I'm not missing anyone.. Anyways... it was quite interesting how they choreographed the event.

Then the ceremonial priest blew Chonce (sp.) Shells.. you know like horns and then entered the priests. There were two people from my local temple in the ceremony, and people from all over the USA and abroad. (Including Peru, Italy, France... Seattle Washington, Chicago and New York.) I found it really very nice that one guy who made an offering spoke it in three languages.

Then the two ladies with long sticks lit the homa dias (hearth). The High Priest chanted sutras and performed the ceremony and we all joined in with chanting as the ritual began.

This is one of the main rituals that we do to eleminate negative karma. To chant for World Peace and Harmony among all people regardless of beliefs, religions, backgrounds or where they are from. We embrace all. Friend and Foe alike.

Soon we will have the Lantern Floating Ceremony in Hawaii on Memorial Day Weekend. This is for all who may have died during wars and calamities, accidents or those ancestors long forgotten. It is also for all departed spirits, equally and alike. You should see the beautiful lanterns floating on the Hawaiian waters. It is said that the those waters connect the 7 Great Oceans around the world, thereby reaching all spirits.

The rest of the trip was nice. Just to get away from the city did me and my Mom a world of good. Would be nice to go to Hawaii, but perhaps when I'm working at a place that gives holiday weekends.

Work has been really interesting... I'll just mention a few points....

1. Coworker discovered can't read.

2. Another associate is a drunk. Keeps calling in sick.

3. Freeway messed up. Clear for my commute but not for others.

4. My cutiepie gay friend quit. Is moving to NYC.

5. Nephew back in the hospital for a bypass in his injured leg.

Have to go into more detail later. All is good and hope that I didn't forget anyone who requested karma bracelets.

Hugz n Lub, Bebe da FairyGodMum