February 21st 2007

Playstation for CASH

Yes, Tired

First I want to appologize for not mailing some of the bracelets on time. I've had them in my purse address packed in an envelope and wanted to write something to each of you. And there the card sits on my car seat. I'm so tired I cannot even write a single word. Please accept my appology.

So, do I get a Yeah and just mail them without a note? It's not in my bones to at least let you know how my I appreciate you even wanting one of these little bracelets. It gives me great pleasure just to make them, knowing you will wear it, give it to someone or just tuck it away knowing grace has come your way.

Please wait just a bit longer, as I have a day off on Thursday. Send me some energy as I just got over that nasty bug that was going around. I kept working like I had to. And probably like most of you. Although if I don't show up for work, or call in sick, there is no one to replace me or open the doors for the customers. I've never worked at a job where you couldn't call in sick. Well, this would be the first.

Sometimes I pray that the Universe would send me to a better job. More money, higher quality of people. Working in the city, no bridge toll to pay or expensive and rising gasoline cost.

Then I look at the people I work with. Knowing how much they really need me, even though I go unappreciated for the most part. They surely don't know that each day I pray for them in all their sorrows. Everyday there is some tragic event that occurs. It's just so much, I don't know where to begin. So, I will leave out most of them. Dunno if you could handle it. Dunno how I am, just that I feel that the Universe has sent me there for a reason. Even if it being that somehow in my prayers that they relieve some of their suffering. I love them all.

Even the girl that ripped off the store. She came in the other day.. well wait let me start from the beginning.

While sitting in the store office, I got a call from the front desk that a crackhead was trying to return a used Playstation II. That the service girl and electronics guy didn't want to accept the return that I should immediately come to see what's the deal.

I looked at her receipt and even though we give 90 days to return a sale, for electronics it's 30 days NOT 90 days. It says so on the back of the receipt. Well, I looked at the merchandise, it definitely had been used and abused by some kids. We couldn't resell it in it's currect condition and this person wanted cash back. I explained how we only accept 30 day returns on electronics but this lady wouldn't hear of it and began to lecture me on the why's and how's we should take it back. She reaked of some foul smell. The girl at the service desk said that it was crack odor.

I guess it doesn't matter whether the woman was on drugs or not. That's not the point. Well, two minutes later, after the woman took the machine and walked out. That I got another phone call from the front desk. It was the girl that stole money from the service desk and was fired. She explained the seemingly crackhead was her sister-in-law.. so she and she wanted her money right now and wasn't leaving until she got it. (She said this in a threatening tone.) I told her, our store policy on returns and said that I was sorry but I couldn't return it at this time. However, if she would like to wait for a more experienced manager to come in ... (who would arrive in about an hour) to see what she would say. That would be Okay.

They decided to wait. I went back into the office. Then I got this phone call that the service desk girl had called that manager on her cell phone and the manager gave her approval to return the playstation. What a HOOT!

They gave cash money back to someone who was fired from the store for stealing. I guess she needed the money but still it was kind of awkward knowing the service girl went behind my back to call the other manager. I knew that this manager didn't fully understand what was going on and we had a heart to heart discussion regarding this. Somehow the manager thought the item was in GREAT/Excellent condition and we could resell it.

I'm not sure why the service girl or the electronics guy felt obligated towards this thief. This was the question I posed to the Loss Prevention Manager. So of course NOW the service girl is mad at me because she went over my head, disrepecting me and my decision not to return it. I'm not angry or anything, just that it seems really ridiculous to still be supporting this girl.

I hope that they realize what a mistake, makes an effort to do something good for someone. I'm actually ok that they returned it, I guess it was more of them having to go behind my back. Should they have said to me that.... well.. FairyGodMum... please let us return this piece of junk for $150 do you think they split the cash? Dunno.. just that something seems suspicious. Funny how they changed their minds after they realized that it was the thief returning it. They would give money to a thief but not a junkie? Wierd huh.

This is my life at the Big Retailer Once Again a TRUE Story. Remember that magazine? Hugz n Lub, Bebe da FairyGodMum