November 12, 2006

Shark, Wolfgang Puck and Geriatrics

Geriatric World

The Golden Nugget

This past week I spent in Vegas. We stayed downtown on Fremont Street at the Golden Nugget. I went with my Mom and one of her senior citizen groups. You could say I was the babysitter.

Fremont Street Downtown Vegas

Half of the people went were in wheelchairs. My favorite was this 94 yr old man whom I exchanged cell phone number's with. OMG, he's such a flirt and a cutie. Noooo... not a potential husband, but one of my families oldest church friends. He knew my Mother's Mom, and sits next to my Mom in church.

We also went to see Toni Braxton perform at the Flamingo Hotel. She had the best dancer's and sang her heart out. We had excellent seats and as soon as I scan in the photo the professional photographer took, I'll post it.

Puck in the Plaza

Mom and I also went to our favorite hotel.. The Venetian. We shopped at our favorite shops and ate in the plaza at Wolfgang Pucks. I must say if you've never eaten at a Puck, you are certainly missing a culinary treat. We had the salmon with baby lentils and chinese chicken salad. It sounds pretty normal, but when those flavors of Wolfgangs hit's your tongue you body dances around for dayzzzz. We listened to opera performers also in the plaza and walked around the canal with gondola's. We also won $70 at a penny machine there!

The Venetian

Well, I'm back to work today and I can't say it isn't the beginning of the Christmas season. As shoppers, lost kids and spilt detergent in isles remind me of what's to come. Somehow I think we are open on Thanksgiving. Oh Boy, Oh Joy... NOT!

My official vacation is OVER! As I smile my way back into the Big Retailer, my GF slipped and fell the other day on some mopped water in the breakroom. He's limping with an Ooops Knee. Seems' this Big Retailer is known for people slipping on that tile floor. Last week another gurl slipped, went to emergency and 2 other people are walking around with knee braces. I dunno what kind of karma this place has, but there must be some disgruntled energy lurking around.

Bimbos

Dad called and left a message that his job will give me a part time gig working at a kewl nightclub called Bimbos here in SF. Dunno what I'll be doing and hopefully it will only be a couple of days out of the month. Just a little extra cash while seeing my Dad for a few hours.

I'm working tomorrow night and even though it is early I'm still kind of tired from staying up all night babysitting my Mom and her friends. I was the runner. It was fun, but I got a leg cramp one night that I'll never forget.

Hope your weekend was better than mine, as The Golden Nugget is going through renovations. They put a shark tank with a water slide going through it around the swimming pool. Fun for shark lovers? And BAD for our pocket books. Guess somebody had to pay for that man eating fish.

Hugz n Lub, Bebe da FairyGodMum