September 5th 2006

Work on 911, the other Emergency

Crikey

First I'd like to honor 911. Second, I feel very weird starting a new job on that day. Third, I'm gonna miss the Crocodile Hunter; Steve Irwin.

EMERGENCY, Emergency
Work begins on 911.

Yes folks, I got a call from the HR Dept. at the Big Retailer letting me know that I will begin work on the 11th. First I felt remorse as how could I begin a new life on such a horrific day.

Then I remember that it is also the Feast of Compassion. A day in the Buddhist Teaching that I am practicing which celebrates the compassionate heart of the Eleven Faced Kannon Bodhisattva.

Some may know her as Quan Yin. She also symbolizes and embodies the heart of the Virgin Mary. So I feel protected and perhaps given the opportunity to offer the same compassion to my new co-workers.

Big Retailer is sending me to work quite a long distance away from home. It will take me 2 hours to get there and back! That is by bus, BART and then another bus. I'll have to leave before 6am, and for those who know me... I'm a night person. So this will be very difficult getting up so early when it's usually the time I go to bed!

The work day begins at 8am so wish me luck as I look forward to this new episode of my life.

New environment, new people and new city.

I'll be working in Pinole. For those of you in the Bay Area, that is beyond Berkeley, Richmond and somewhere near the Richmond/San Rafael Bridge. If you know anybody that commutes in that direction, please have them to email me. As most people can get Free Rides into San Francisco, I don't know of anyone going the opposite direction.

Hopefully, I'll be able to get reliable transportation as that will save an hour in commute time. I'm still waiting to hear about the hooptie. Or as some may put it... a piece a junk of a car. I'm really more concerned about getting there safely and am crossing my fingers that I'll find something that get's me to and fro.

Well, this is my last week of freedom.

Laundry, last minute home fix ups, paint that hallway, bath and kitchen and take a nap. Even though I probably won't getting around to doing all those fix ups, I'll be sure to take a nap!

My last dayz at home alone with the doggie are about to end soon. Long will I dream of sleeping late, looking outside and saying.. "It's too cold to go outside" and Think I'll Sleep Late Today. Ahhh.. I'll miss all of those things, not to mention having my doggie curl up by my feet.

My sister is coming up from LA for my Dad's Bday party this weekend. She's staying with me. I'm going to try to get some exercise soon. As my bootay's gotta fit into work clothes and lorday I got tons of them.. that is... if I could ONLY fit into a size 7.

A Stingray has stung our beloved hunter of crocodiles in the heart.

I kept saying Crikey all day long. We are all going to miss you Steve Irwin. Thanks for the laughs, the adventure and educating us. I'll never look at a crocodile in the same way.ABC newsBBC News

Hugz n Lub, Bebe da FairyGodMum