August 24st 2006

SF, a Benefit & Job

Wierd News

This little city by the bay has more than interesting people. Everywhere you look there are rolling hills, victorian architecture, and ocean & bay views. The art and culture is eclectic, you can entertain yourself just by sitting in a coffee shope watching the people go by.

One of the people who makes it this way is the Bushman. You see... he hides behind some tall bush stems and scares tourists in Fisherman's Wharf. People stand around waiting for the next unsuspected victim, it's a riot. Everybody laughs and the Bushman gets a tip.

New Job

Today I spoke with one of the Manager's of the Big Retailer. He's the cutie pie. He told me that he can't wait for me to start work. That the 20% over my salary is based upon the cost of living here. Apparently that's how much it is below everywhere else. They say that the San Francisco Bay Area is costly and I guess this is proof. It kinda scared me when he said that he is making less. I think he just said that to make me feel better about how little I'm going to get.

He lives on Treasure Island. Which is a small island inbetween San Francisco and the East Bay. You have to cross halfway onto the Bay Bridge where they have the most beautiful view of San Francisco.

If you cross onto the East Bay side, you have to pay a toll coming back. So he say's it is part of the SF County. Cutie Pie Manager also told me how low the rent is there. Think he wants me to move nearby? But I told him I've been living in the same apartment for years and my rent is very low. As compared to some of my other friends who are paying from $950 -$1,200 for a small studio above the downtown area.

Nob Hill & Tenderloin District

It's not the worst district in the downtown area and is somewhat kittycorner of the Tenderloin district. That's where Glide Memorial Church is located. They have self help programs for AIDS and abuse victims and a free food kitchen for the homeless. If you stay in that area, which a lot of elderly people do, you risk the hazzards of one of the worst ghetto areas in all of SF. Funny how a few blocks up on the hill is...

Grace Cathedral,

the Mark Hopkins Hotel...

the Fairmont Hotel and...

This ritzy area of Nob Hill has some of the most beautiful views in all of SF. You may have seen the pictures of SF where the cable car is going downhill and the view of the Transamerica building is in the background.

Ok nuf of the tour.

Benefit

Tonight one of my classmates held a benefit for AIDS Children in Mexico. I went early to help out, but she already had enough assistance. So her mother took me out to dinner. I was quite surprised and was very grateful. We went to this little corner mom n pop place on the corner. You'd never know that the food would be so good, except for there wasn't an empty table in the house. That's how you can tell if the food is good at SF restaurants. Never eat at a place where you see no people.

Dinner

Anyway, we both had the prawns with fettuchini, mushrooms and artichokes. The prawns were so delicious and the meal cost $11.50 each. It also came with soup or salad. I couldn't belive how good it was and complemented the chef by asking him how to cook. And gave the waitress a few extra bucks, she sure worked hard and the floor was very hard. Makes me think about how the linoleum is going to be for me at the Big Retailers store. For the same meal in Fishermans Wharf it would have cost $25.00 easily.

It was good sitting there talking with her as she has been ill for quite some time. I'm not sure what the story is, but she has some sort of condition where she has episodes or breakdowns. She has been in and out of the hospital and on meds since December. The last time I saw her was when we had an art show at Gallery One in downtown Embarcadero Center.

She was fine that night, then my gf told me when they got home, her mother called the fire department without them knowing. Imagine... sirens coming down your street, stopping at your house and ding dong, ringing your doorbell. Only to answer, uhhhh can I help you? Fireman: You Called? Uhhh No? Mother... did you call the Firemen? Mother: Yes! OMG... MOM!!! No one in the household knew what was going on, they rushed her off to the hospital and she has pretty much been there ever since.

On the outside, she looks fine.

Who knows what causes these sorts of breakdowns. We kind of believe it is due to stress.

I tried to give her encourageing words, that we all love her and need her. It was so good seeing her out and about and I hope that she's back to her regular self real soon.

The Benefit was truly wonderful.

There were poets, a belly dancer, jazz musicians, accoustic guitarists, singers, spoken word and a child performer. The audience was sparse, I think there were only 20 people. That includes all of the performers, me, another lady and the mother of the child. It's really difficult getting people to patronize the arts in SF. More people need to get out off their couches, from behind their TV's, from in front of their computers and enjoy live entertainment and hopefully patronize some worthy cause. Every single act just got better and better. We cheered, danced and hooted as if a thousand people.

I waited for the bus which came in a half hour, my friend gave me a bottle of red wine and I also had fettuchini leftovers all to take home.

Tomorrow is the Closing Ceremony for Graduation. We are participating with the Women's Spirituality Program. (Yes, there are spiritual women!) Three of the women in my MFA program received their MA in Women's Spirituality. There will probably be some sort of ritual with lots of candles, offerings to the Goddess, food and students showing their final projects. On Saturday the Humanities Dept. with others, will be graduating. I'm not sure if I am starting work on Monday, I haven't received the contract yet. I'd like to begin on the 1st of September giving me a few extra days to get myself together. I'll try to talk to the HR manager tomorrow as to when it will arrive. I'd like to finalize this proceedure so that I can begin my new life living like most pay check to pay check folks.

Hugz n Lub, Bebe da AlmostEmployedFairyGodMum