August 22, 2006

Small Salary = Cheap Car

No Drama

The drama I endured the other day is peaceful today.

Couldn't sleep last night, thinking about the job offer and Dad's Revenge. (See Previous Entry)

Mom picked me up today to try and cheer me up.

We went to my school and I gave them my petition to graduate. Graduation is on Saturday at 1pm. Also had to pick up my gown which was in a locker along with my external hard drive. Guess what? There was nothing in the locker and the lock broken off. I ran around school trying to find out what happened. Seems the grounds person was instructed to cut off the lock. Luckily he also had my things, so I'm not out of all the video work that I did this past year.

Then we went to the health food store she picked up some vitamins, grapes and nuts. I picked up some trail mix. Then she says lets go over my house and eat. So we stopped at the grocery store and picked up some salmon. Also went to Best Buys and looked at TV's. She wants a flat screen for her kitchen and I needed a cable for my new 80 gig external drive that I got as a Bday present to myself.

Got to her house and browsed through some Vogue magazine the Fall Fashion Issue then we ate Salmon, cabbage, rice, salad and a glass of wine. I said that I was going to go downtown and look at displays so I will know how to set up the store at my New Job. Did I mention that they want me to start on Monday? We browsed through Neiman Marcus at Union Square, then over to Macy's. Stopped in the designer shops and awed at how the cost of an entire DKNY outfit is more than a car. And I do need a car to get to this job.

After we left downtown she dropped me at home. She gives me her New Vogue Issue and another fashion mag. We didn't buy anything as we're planning on going to Vegas in November and need some fun money. She suggests that I call my Dad. So I do.

Ring Ring

Dad's Wife answers the phone, may I please talk to Dad? Sure, hold on a minute. Dad sounds better. Not so upset. After he rambles on about me working the CD player at his party and how his step daughter and her friend are greeting people at the door showing them to their seats. I tell him that I got the job and it begins on Monday. He tells me about his cousin who is moving to Louisiana, that his wife wants to sell her 1982 car. OMG that car is more than 20 yrs old. Told him that I need a car that will travel 100 miles a day. He says that it only has 60,000 miles on it. But it may need some adjustments as it wasn't driven very much. That parts may be old. He's going to check with cousin about getting it.

Seems they are selling it for around $650 I can afford that. But really concerned about safety and reliability. Guess beggers can't be choosey. Also, invited Dad to my graduation on Saturday. He say's he'll be there.

What a different kind of conversation! I also told him that I love him then hung up the phone after we both said goodbye. I don't know what was bothering him the other day. Mom says that he was just dumping on you, that he was probably upset about something entirely different. And he just took it out on you. That I will probably never know what the real story was or is. I'm just really exhausted and going to try to get some rest right now.

Wish me luck in trying to negotiate the Big Retailer salary.

Remember Big Retailers pay small dividends, work long hours and weekends. I'm not worried about that, more concerned right now with going to Japan in December. That is my goal and now I'm happy that I have a way to make that happen!

Hugz n Lub, Bebe da EverLivinGodMum