August 3rd 2006

Jr. High Flashback and Job Hunt

Hoot ta Boot

The Jr. High School reunion was simply wonderful!!!

We all listened to a string trio while dining on catered sushi, armenian rolls, fruit, spinich dip and crackers and swedish meatballs. And that was just for starters! The main course consisted of a choice of vegetarian, turkey or roast beef. I chose the beef, just because the gurl had an extra plate she was trying to get rid of. Good choice too, because other's that were waiting for their turkey waited way too long. Seems having your children serve without direction meaned some people were skipped over.

Anyway... as I sang show tunes at the table, my good friend shushed me because she always wants to be the bell of the ball. Funny thing is, there was a photo album going around that had pictures of us and I forgot how good I looked a few years ago. We met about 15 yrs ago at another gurlfriends mother's house in the foothills of Hillsburough. A suburb of San Francisco with pricy homes starting at a kewl mil.

There was another book floating around. And this one was our Sr. year class book which means 9th Grade.

Could you believe that I did the artwork for that book! I mean, the cover design, each grade level sections and various cartoons.

I coulda been a cartoonist! Funny thing is that I did end up being a graphic designer. Back then, no one told me that's what I was doing. I guess school counselors had no idea what that was.

Ok, back to the people at the reunion.

Here were all the cutie pie gurls with boobs bigger than mine! So, I wasn't the biggest one there. WHEW!

When the DJ started up, here come the guys standing on one side of the room, while the girls all sat down. Things haven't changed all that much since back then.

Of course I was the first one to begin dancing, that line dance... what's it called? The Hustle?... NOOoooooo... The California Twist?... Noooooo Does anybody remember the name of that dance????? Nooooooo....

And it wasn't a Soul Train Line.. but we did do that! What a HOOT, to see people strutting their stuff like it was 1971.

There were drinks galore, a Huge Tent with tables, other round tables with umbrellas and a beautiful grass backyard garden. The gurl that had the party has been married for more than 30 yrs to the same boyfriend from High School. She.. I mean We, were all celebrating our 50th! So she invited all of her high school friends, jr. high, and job related friends.. not to mention neighbors. I'm sure she had to invite the entire hood as the music was blasting.

Her home was brand spanking new, two level, four bedroom. And she also owned the house next door where her parents are living. How nice of her. My gurl friend was whispering about her old flame who showed up. Funny how all of the guys left their wives behind. And I don't think too many of the gurls have husbands anymore. What is our society turning into?

Men looking to play, women looking for realness. I was just looking and laughing taking in it all.

I was sooo happy to see so many old friends. There were at least 100 people there, and I'm so glad that I went. Something to remember when we celebrate our 65th Birthday.

I wouldn't be surprised if we were still shouting.... SOUL TRAIN!!!! and the line up starts.

Job Hunt

FYI... I've been on the job hunt now for too long. And it seems that a major retailer might hire me as an assistant manager. I dunno if I passed the IQ test. I always do poorly at those :( But after my 3rd interview last week with the district manager, I got a call Monday from one of the store managers just checking to see that I got all of my paper work in. Would be nice to earn a paycheck again. Wish me Luck.

Hugz n Lub, Bebe da FairyGodMum