May 15th 2006

Mother's Day Forecast: Sunny & Bright

It's OVER!

I survived Mother's Day!

My nephew drove us over to my brother's house. On the way we saw a Niche (Large Circular Rainbow Around the Sun) In Buddhism, this is an auspicious sign. Many meanings have been drawn about such signs, mostly that the heavens are smiling down upon us. And that blessings are shinning showing us the way to enlightenment. Ancestors are happy and that the future is more hopeful than we can imagine.

We sat down to an outdoor delight. It was the hottest day of the year here in the Bay Area. San Francisco was at least in the mid 80's, which never happens. And where my brother lives was near the 90's. We sat under umbrella shadded trees and played dominoes with the "MAN my brother chose to introduce me to."

He was a rolly polly sort. Guess I can't talk since I put on MORE than a few pounds. Going back to University after more than a few years can do this to you. I guess he thought the same about me. I could hear his thoughts.... "OMG she's HUGE!" .... she comes from a good family, seems fun, free spirited. Has NO J-O-B.... so NIX the set up situation ehhhhh.

I'm good at that mind reading thing. I should probably be a pay as you go psychic.

Mummy Dearest Arrived

In her prim and proper Sunday Best, with boyfriend in tow. He's like a puppy dog googling eyes after her. It's actually cute, and really, he's probably been more like a father to me after all these years.

The pool was ready for swimmer's, the hot tub ready for wine sippers. But none of us gravitated towards the water ways. We just sat and baked in the sun, watching my brother's 4 dogs romp around the place. (2 german sheppards, 1 basset hound, 1 pomeranian) Whilst his homing piegeons flew overhead. The rolling views of the hills overlooking the scenic bay view, we ate BBQ Chicken, Roasted Beef, Potato Salad, Green Salad, Green Beans, Baked Beans and Garlic Bread. For dessert we had Neopolitan Ice Cream, Sock It To Me Cake and Apple Pie. There was plenty of wine, soda and water as we sweated until we were full.

After Dinner

We went inside, my brother brought out the Conga Drums, Mic, Guitar, Tamborine and Various Instuments. We took turns singing, dancing and beating or shaking some instrument til we turned blue.

One of my nephews is a Rapper, the other makes the beats. So we listened to their music commented on how wonderfully good they are and watched big screen TV's project some of the most beautiful HDTV ambiance I've ever seen.

We like to think of my brother's as a resort. A place we only go a few times a year. And Mother's day went without a hitch or snare of flare up from my Mummy or the Crew. I got one comment on how fat I was, (almost slapping my mother's boyfriend. he's no slim jim either.) But I held back and waited for them to leave so I could smoke my cig. Shoulda had a REAL Stiff Drink, as my brother has a full bar. But, overall the day went quite well.

I rode home with my nephews, singing oldies but goodies all the way home in traffic. And tonight I watched "Breakfast at Tiffany's" for fun.

Thank you to everyone with your wonderfully comforting comments. REALLY... I know this memory happened for a reason. I already forgive the person and bless them with my true heart. I'm innocent and I know it, and whatever I can do to help anyone in a similar sitation.. that's what I'm here for.

OH.. I'm soooo Happy that Boxx is coming to my show. Just hope rehearsal goes well this week. This is not a big show like the last one, just a little entertainment while people view my artwork. Gosh, now I'm starting to feel the before show jitters.

Hugz to Everyone and Hope Your Mother's Day went as smoothly as Mine.

Bebe da FairyGodMum