July 11th 2005

Grad Party

What a Weekend!

This weekend was full of fun-a-tics. My family being one of them. Whether it's time to cry or laugh, when the music starts everyone grabs an instrument and the dance begins.

Summer is the time for burns and bar-b-que's. While the sun hasn't shinned in months in the city and my belt buckle tightens even though there's no Bar-B-Q, I still manage to find fun, even if it's in someone elses backyard.

My cousin, you know the beautiful one that looks like a model, gave the BEST Party of the Year on Saturday for her 3 sons. All of whom graduated or "WILL" Be graduating from college this year. HALAHHHUUUYAHHH!!! They are all handdsome young men and the theme was "Boy's to Men" She had pictures of all of them from babes in arms to manhood. There was a spead of food from here to eternity. I mean... Meatballs, Prawns, Ribs, Corn, Fruit, Veggies, Nick Nacks... and that was just the Appetizer!

MAIN COURSE

Included: Roast Beef, Masala Chicken, Tamale Pie, Asparagus, Green Beans, Mashed Potatoes and who knows what else cause there was sooooo much food, the salad seemed enough for me. She even had 3 cakes with each of the boys picture airbrushed on them. Strawberry Shortcake, Chocolate and Pinnaple. Not to mention the Cream Puffs and assorted finger cakes on 4 tiered trays. Making such a beautiful display of food, there had to be about 150 people in and out of that house during the day and evening.

She EVEN had 2 DJ's. Sorry UNCLE BOB Perhaps if you lived in California and brought along your Hip-Hop collection I would have suggested she hire you. As these DJ's Bleeped OUT ALL of the curse words.

They had all of the music set up on the computer. No More Turn Tables and messy CD changes. Gosh the good old days are truly gone.

BUT..... We danced our BLEEPS Off doing the Soultrain line and I shook that tamborine and marakas while my brother played the jimbe conga drum. They didn't have a mic. OR at least not for Karaoke singing.... Awe Shucks.... but my family did end up entertaining the crowd like they have never seen people party that hard before.

We also partied because my nephew graduated from University this year, the other one next year, and I will next month!

We have much to celebrate not to mention MY BIRTHDAY which was July uhhh... well.. I celebrate it on the 4th... You know Fireworks.

My mom hosted 2 students from Africa last week.

One girl from Lagos Nigeria and the other from Zimbabwe. They were both lovely girls and I could have adopted them as my little sisters. We each got one of those bright colored rubber bracelets everyone is wearing. On them said San Francisco. Then we raised hands together and said "Sister's for LIFE!" Then the following day on the 4th we all went together and watched the fireworks at Crissy Field. They had never seen anything like it. Kind of chilly evening, but the view of the Golden Gate Bridge at Sunset was Awesome!

Then on my birthday I got a car from CityCarShare went over my Dad's house and ate dinner with some family member's that were visiting from Houston, TX. Hadn't seen them since 1997 and my Dad sure was happy. He even had a tear in his eye when they left. Maybe one day I'll download some pics.. Gosh I forgot to take pics at my cousins party... daggnabbit! Anyway... this past holiday week has been ALL GOOD!

Here's wishing you the BEST Summer of ALL

I just realized that this is my YEAR Anniversary on Diaryland! Wooo Hoooo!!!!! Hugz n Lub, Bebe da FairyGodMum