April 22nd 2005

Almost Showtime!

Tech Time

We had tech rehearsal last night for my show. Did I tell ya that Al my singer called the other night.

Well... he's ok. Like I said, I'm not sure what his story is. Said something about being out of town and changing his number. Mumbled about not wanting certain people to have his number. I guess I'm NOT one of those "Certain People", cause he called and gave me his new number. He came to rehearsal last night LATE (Tech Rehearsal) and the same the night before (Pre-Show)... but I'm just glad that he showed up at all. I worry about that boy, so I'm saying my prayers for him that he's alright and that he'll get it together in time for the show. He's just one of the best singers I've ever heard and I'm just trying to give him a forum for those chops. (I'm video taping the show and making a DVD.. did I tell ya?) We did the pre-show (on Wed.) just fine. All of my cast came. WHEW.. what a relief!

My nephew did his best to be a preacher.. even though I don't think my brother took him to church a day in his life! The African Dancer was da BOMB! And I discovered a fantastic tech guy who also does impressions. Gotta use that boy for my August show. Then I got one more extra to do the choir number she's thew kewlest too. Finally I think this show is coming together.

Showtime is Next Friday and Saturday.

Wouldn't ya know it... my project is the first one to perform. There are about 7 students performing they're work on each night. We have to trade off different nights a total in 4. But I'm only showing 2 of them. WHEW! We almost had to do 3. OK.. ok.. enough of the technical BS.

I had to sing, remember my lines... do my Grammy Dance.. it's kind of an old tyme square dance toe tapper... oh did I post that one.. or was it the Africa Song? Well.. the Africa song sent goose bumps up and down folks arms, so they say. I sing it playing the African Ancestor. It goes something like this....

Ohhh.. Africa Oh Africa... Take my hand, lead me home. When you fly Oh Africa. On your long journey home. As you fly in the sky do you sigh Oh Africa, Oh Africa. Take my hand and lead me home. Down that narrow road to follow, follow, follow.

Ok.. that's enuf. My last class is this Saturday and Sunday. Then next weekend it's SHOWTIME! I still have to recite a monologue. Dance some authentic movements with a couple of groups. And perhaps sing a few songs. Who knows, we might even have a written test OMG.. think I'd better study just in case. Good Grief.

Just thought I'd check in... it's late. Need my beauty rest. Tomorrow Media Lab and Remember my lines!

Hugz n Lub, Bebe da FairyGodMum