April 15th 2005

Grammy's Story Sing-a-Long

Simple Things

This is my Grammy Song

Simple Things Ain't Simple Anymore.....

Had a little time to change my life. Had a little time to change my fate.
Change my life would change my fate.
Even you could believe this is true.

Simple, Ohhh Simple is my life. In a world of struggle and strife. You gotta know which way to go. You gotta choose whatever you do.

To Change the Future.
To Change the Future.

But the simple little things just never change

So you had a little time to change your mind. And you had a little time to change your ways. Change your mind would change your ways

Even you could believe this is true.

Simple, Ohhh Simple is my life
In a world of struggle and strife
You gotta know which way to go
You gotta choose whatever you do

To Change the Future
To Change the Future

But the simple little things just never change

Everybody... But the simple little things just never change

Last Time... But the simple little things just never change

This is sung in kind of a Zydeco/Country Western upbeat tempo. Kind of a toe tapper where people will clap. I'm going to record it in the summer for the CD I'm putting out for my thesis show.

I'm also singing one Called "Africa Oh Africa" which is much slower and very moving in spirit. I'll sing that one after I do a cowrie shell ancestor reading for the audience during the show.

Today I exported .mov files for my show. One for the opening sequence the other for the closing. Yeahhh...

I Completed editing those two videos with sound, voice over and still images with some lightweight annimation. Two down, two to go! Hopefully tomorrow I'll be able to complete the others.

The other ones are for the "African Sage" portion, and the "Finding Faith" gospel number. I have a video of some African dancers I'm gonna use. And the gospel number I'm just going to have an image of a church in the background, so it shouldn't be that difficult cause the music we are doing live for both. It's just syncing the live action with the video that's gonna be a trip.

Then after I finish that I can concentrate on learning my lines for the show and what my costumes & props are going to be .Then I have to get them to the school. All I have is one of those strolling backpacks so it should be interesting getting a rocking chair there.

Tomorrow it's the media lab again until 4pm then I have dance rehearsal til 7pm then off to see my teachers show at 8pm.

Tonight while I was editing some of the kids in my class were doing an internet radio show. I don't know what channel it's on or how many actual listeners there are. They sounded pretty funny as a hodge podge of comedy, guitar playing, singing, reciting spoken words and doing funny Brittish accents. Not bad for them not having a script. Don't think they ever thought of that... Then they went to a party at one of the kids house. The clown invited me.. but after I finished editing... they had already left. Not to worry... I really didn't want to go.

Then as I walked out.. I missed my bus so I went to the Mexican Taquaria and got my usual dollar menu of beans and rice. Got home around 10:30pm. Watching Little Nicky on TBS. Doing the diary and reading others.. Planning on going to bed early again tonight.

Oh yeahh.. I made some new friends in the media lab. One young man who was doing some sound editing... just messing around joking with the clown and another girl who was doing some ediitng. Helped them all with they're Final Cut Pro projects, DVD stuff and general editing. Always enjoy helping other people.. gives me a sense of purpose.

NEWS FLASH!!!

Called my singer (Al) who's doing the gospel number. You remember him.. we were supposed to go to Napa?

Well.. his PHONE NUMBER is diconnected!
OMGGGG!!!

I've been calling and calling him. I hope he's alright. He lives kind of far from me. I don't know what to think. As we're supposed to do a pre show this Wednesday. The guitar player said he could sing the gospel song.. ONLY thing is he is a cutie pie white guy.. singing in a Black Church... rofl..

If all else fails and Mr. Al has indeed disappeared.. Home Boy will do Just Fine.

Always good to have a back up plan when you have to rely on other people.

Gosh I hope he calls.

Hugz n Lub, Bebe da FairyGodMum