April 6th 2005

Thank God Almighty....

HOME at LAST!

Twas the longest day of the year and all I did was have fun.

Had a rehearsal with my singer (Al) today. He showed up kinda whinny, so I'm assuming the Napa trip is OFF! No big deal as he looks like he's been through the mill. Not sure what his story really is. Funny how people have PRIVATE lives that they never discuss. Anyway, we rehearsed with a piano player and the gospel number is sounding good. Now ONLY if he can remember the words, that would be fantastic.

I also rehearsed the African Dance number with the musician. He's quite talented and plays not only the piano, but the accoustic guitar, the electric bass guitar, congo drums, flute and who knows what else. I'm definitely going to record him on my CD.

He picked up my solo song titled "Africa Oh Africa" and the African Dance with it. I'm going to have him do somewhat of a Bollero strum guitar with a South African flair. I did the dance today just to show him how it goes. But I have a fabulous dancer who's going to actually do it. We rehearse on Sundays

Then after that rehearsal, we had voice lessons with the instructor who is also my advisor. I sang the Africa song and they were all silent. I mean it was like they haven't really heard me sing like that in a while. I let him know that the guitar player and I already rehearsed and are working on the composition.

They all said I sound like "OLD SCHOOL"

I guess that kind of dates my style. But other comments were that not too many people know how to sing that style. Perhaps I should update my music listening pattern and pay attention to how Brittney Spears sings... NOT!

I must say that my other two classmates have really good voices. More so than mine. One sounds like a smooth contemporary lounge singer. Kinda like that guy that sings Ordinary People". Then the girl sounds like Janis Joplin.. wailing and all.. she's got it goin on! ... And she's a CLOWN!

Yes folks, she's a real clown. Except that she's not the ordinary clown type. She's gay and her show is about how she's looking for HER people. She just doesn't quite fit into the Regular Clown Counter Culture. Her show is a Riot!

After practice we had movement class.

We were doing leaps and turns with a twist. Jumping over people like a summersault. This teacher is into contact improvisation and comes from a modern dance background. Some of his stuff is really over the top. Meaning, I can't do it. I mean, not at my age anyways. Perhaps when I was younger Yes... but NOW? Well.. lets just say, the last class we did shoulder rolls. I threw out my shoulder, back and hip. And almost knocked myself out cold. So... I do try to be careful and when tonight we did walk overs backwards over somebodys back... I declined. Heck! I'm no Foo.. Remember?

After movement class we had Thesis Class.

Tonight about 5 people showed they're performance thesis projects. Or at least the work in progress. There was the Clown of course. She bangs into a wall that has a poster of Clown Alley. Does a summersault with a kick and foils again. Blam! Laugh Laugh Laugh! Poor thing.. but she does make some good balloon animals... Like the snail she handed to the teacher.. tee hee

Then there were other's like the Roving Reporter who is a washed up comic trying to be straight. She becomes an Evangelist reporting on the Micheal Jackson case while praising the Lord and singing in a square dance song.

Then there's the girl who sings like a nightingale, and projected a video on the wall of her mouth. Her mouth recited an entire dialog of her abusive life. She's a victim of child abuse, parental abuse, boyfriend abuse and life abuse. It was serious but very well done. As her shadow appeared on the wall while she was sitting. Quite an image that sticks in your mind.

The last girl did an original dialog with song. It's hard to explain this piece but it's about Rumpusel. (excuse the spelling) Her life after the boyfriend is gone. I think that this is one of the most dynamic performances and mind sticking pieces.

Anyway... So HOW was Your Day?

Mine was just fine, even though I got a "B" on my book report. I'm ok with that. But tonight I found out all I had to do was 1/2 the book, then the other 1/2 due next week. Geeze.. i already did the whole book.. Imagine... This was an Encyclopedia sized book... Right.. and I rushed.. SHEESH!

When I got home from the bus ride, I looked up and there were fireworks. Guess it's the start of Baseball season or something. Had to be at SBC Ballpark. So I stayed outside and watched them for a 1/2 hour. Then came in and walked my dog up at USF. They have a huge grass field. And I can ONLY walk her late at night, cause there are signs everywhere that say..

"NO DOGS ALLOWED".

Well..... I'm off to bed... DVD class tomorrow, with rehearsals again tomorrow night. Adios!

Hugz n Lub, Bebe da FairyGodMum