April 2nd 2005

Lakewood Ministries

An Evening with

Joel

Yesterday evening I previously made plans with my father's wife to go see this television evangelist,
Joel Osteen.


Who wrote this best seller book:
Your Best Life Now.

My father wanted to join us so that made it even the more worthwhile as I always enjoy quality time with my dear sweet dad.

The program was at the Oakland Arena which is across the Bay Bridge from San Francisco about an hours drive in thick traffic. When we got there who woulda thunk there would be so many people. The line alone into the parking lot was tremendous. And we still hadn't bought tickets and hesitated to think about the line that faced us there. Anyway, we parked the car and proceeded to march 6 blocks with tons of ticket holders to the arena.

As we proceeded I heard a man shout: TICKETS!!! I really didn't pay him any attention thinking... OH.. I'll just get a tic at the booth. But the closer I got to the marchers I turned around and asked him "How Much?" The kindly man with his 2 buddies said $10 each, that's what he paid for them and I motioned to my father that was a good price and to get them. Luckily or by even a Greater Reason, the man was selling 3 tickets.

The man said "I'm scalping tickets for JOEL!"

We all laughed and praised the Lord and thanked him that we didn't have to race for that ticket line.

Little did we know this man had purchased tickets long ago and had some of the Best Seats in the House. I have to say it was like going to Rock Concert High Tech Church. The multimedia show alone was amazing not to mention the band. I took notes for my thesis project as to how they managed to align the live music along with the video coinciding with words on the two huge viewing screens.

I was touched by how all of Joels family was involved. His mother, brother, wife and children. His little girl sang the sweetest song that was so innocent and beautiful. If you Ever Get the Chance to see this man speak, even if your not into religion, I would suggest it as he is one of the best motivational speakers I've ever heard. Funny thing, during the sermon, Joel said "I hope none of you here had to buy scalped tickets" the place was soldout!

While watching my father it deeply touched me that I was somehow meant to spend that special time with him as a deep memory that I will never forget. Even though we are Catholic, it had an even deeper meaning after hearing the news this evening about the Popes departure.

I remember watching the Pope drive by in his Pope Mobile back in the late 70's. I also was at the Colliseum in Oakland when I sat on the field.. Not in the Bleachers to see the Pope. Really, I was within 100 yards of the Pope as he blessed us all.

Now you ask how come your a Buddhist Monk?

I became a follower of a Japanese Buddhist Teaching back in 1997. Being a student of metaphysices lead me to alot of research as to the origin of the teaching we all practiced as a people. All the oldest books I found pointed to Mahayana Buddhism. Every single one of them. But none of them went in depth about what Mahayana was. Then one day a friend of mine was visiting from out the country took me to the temple. It felt like nothing I'd ever felt before. And believe me, I've been to all kinds of temples, churches, meditations, spiritual mediums, psychics, priests, reverends you name it. I probably know a whole lot about the subject matter than most. And have been told by many that my special spiritual gifts are second to none. If you really want to know more about my research, click on the metaspiritual link at the right side.

So you ask HOW can I be Buddhist, Catholic and a Spiritualist all in one?
My answer...

Why Not?

In this life, if there is any way to better ones self, help others, save the planet and perhaps the universe. DO IT! So henceforth my life along the spiritual path.

I must say it isn't an easy path as there are many obstacles. As in anybody's everday life, I've never known anyone who planned something that it came out EXACTLY the Way they Planned. So why not change ones attitude towards others and even towards ones self.

First, forgive yourself as you forgive others. Believe that you are sent here on this planet for the good of all mankind. That there is nothing and nobody who can stand in the way of the rich goodness that you exude. No matter how greedy they are... How ignorant they are... OR How Angry they may become. That they cannot budge your Greatness Ordered by the Big Guy. I get disgusted sometimes when I look at the selfishness and lack of compassion some possess. Knowing that they can change their ways isn't good enough. But it is difficult to know that each and every person is responsible for their own actions and forgiveness is about all one can do in order to keep harmony.

So you've had enough religion for today.

Well.... I'm not trying to point any fingers at anyone. Except for maybe myself, especially when I too lack the human compassion, forget to have gratitude for each and every day that I live, or forget to appreciate the little things such as a childs smile.

My favorite quote is from Back to the Future III it goes something like this: The future hasn't been written yet, so make it a good one. -Christopher Lloyd... Don't ya just love a good comic!

Hugz n Lub, Bebe da FairyGodMum

I just went online to check out tickets the best are at Joel's Website. I looked at other websites and tickets are selling for as much as $150.00. At his site they are $10. Big Dif huh.