December 17th 2004

It's SHOWTIME!!!!

One Down

One more to go tomorrow night. Yes, we have two shows to perform this weekend and tonight was the BEST!

My DAD came.. what a surprise! I invited him weeks ago, little did I know he'd show up. He never comes to my shows, I guess he felt like it would help him understand what I was doing. And YES! He enjoyed it throughly.

Although he didn't quite understand other peoples shows. There were 5 other pieces performing before mine.. Did I mention that The Barbary Coast Extravaganza was the last on the Bill? Stopped the show, YES it Did! Anyway back to the other pieces, most of them were abstract personal thoughts of people.

One girl did something about giving birth to a baby.. Yes onstage with the groaning and legs spread apart! Yeuk! Then she starting reciting something about her abusive ex-boyfriend who was the father. Then she acted out some area in her life where she did tricks for money... OMG she went DOWN on the imaginary friend who was supposed to be sitting in a chair.. OMG.. My DAD.. raised an eyebrow and was shocked thinking what was his daughter doing in a program such as this? And what was he to expect in my piece, he trembled!

The the next pieces that followed included a beautiful girl sanding a window pane on her knees, then becoming a truck stop trick taking off her clothes explaining her escapades for twenty bucks. Little did people know that this particular girl doesn't sleep with men. GET IT? Next came the girl that talked about her unhappy life as a child... I have no idea what that piece was about other than that. Or maybe she was happy, cause the part about her choaking herself and turning blue in the face... Maybe that wasn't the happy part. She did do a lot of explaining had to do with baseball and asking the audience if we could see her. Somehow I don't think that the audience got that performance either.

My favorite was a girl who did a mulimedia piece with video in the background. It was as though she and the video were one. She talked to the video and it talked back. What perfect timing. She talked about the "Jesus Pickle" you can guess by the title it had to do with glorifying a "pickle". It was something she was struggling with, the Ex-Boyfriend she left in Germany.. guess he had a Big Pickle. Oh Well.. that's enough of the experimental performance world for now.

Sometimes I think that people who work out their real life dramas onstage have to purge in public for some reason. I guess it's a good thing. For them, that is. Although a good psychologist would do the trick. Trick there's that word again.

Then came my piece.

Dad was completly happy after it started. Seeing that it was a variety show with one of his favorite singers. Then, after knowing how much work I put into producing this show, he felt like he finally understood what I do... at least he said so. And that all of my work was for a good reason. He had something to talk about to his friends. Something good that I had done. He realized how many people I had envolved in the project and for once in my life I felt like the proud daughter.

The dancers, singers and multimedia opening sequence that I put together made all the other works seem unfinished. That wasn't my intention, I just like to produce good shows showcasing real talent. That's what I do and hope that the Good Lord helps me to continue with this crazy showbiz life's work.

Many of my classmates and friends were surpised to see that I am a seasoned performer. I just love an audience and really feel more comfortable onstage than anywhere else. When they saw me act, sing and dance not to mention do the multimedia computer graphics, they were in awe at how professional it was.

I felt the performance went well. There were a few snagaboo's, such as timing in between numbers that went faster than a jack rabbit. And changing into costumes ment the music was going and where was Bebe? Backstage rambling for my granny outfit. The only thing I could improve upon was the need to lose a few pounds... well just for theatrics perhaps. I have to confess I am no longer the Hot Mama strutin her stuff. Guess you could say I'm the middle aged lady who still struts her stuff like I still got it goin on.

Ok.. OK.. I'm not going to be so hard on myself. Especially after maintaining two full time schedules at two different schools. How many units is that? Lets round off that figure to a 40. Crazy I am, but I tell ya, next semester I plan to take it a little easier. Just a ballet class, modern dance, maybe a tap, the DVD Studio Pro Class... already took it once. (I just want access to the computers.) Then there's the acting/directing, voice, theater movement, script writing, thesis and who knows what else...OH YEAH.... & I need to work on my SPRING SHOW!

Would You Believe... I'm already getting people asking to be in that show. Isn't it awesome!

Anyway, I just wanted to give a BIG THANK YOU to all those wishing me a broken leg. Well, we broke a leg, a thigh an ankle and a few hearts! This was one of the happiest nights I've ever had with my Dad in the audience, having lots of my good friends cheering me on and not to mention my Tap Dance Teacher! She gave me an Orchid Bless her heart!

Elvish

To which race of Middle Earth do you belong?
brought to you by Quizilla

Love You ALL.. Happy Holidayzzzzz..

Hugz n Lub, Bebe da FairyGodMum