October 1st 2004

WHO DO VOODOO?

Pardon ME?

A Quick Recap of the Week
And Other Fun Things.

Ran into an old friend of mine this week. I was in the parking lot of the New College when who do you know walked up and said my name??? Teish! I hadn't seen her since a lecture at the Paetheon I once attened at least 10 yrs back. And seeing her now SHURE put a Big Smile on my face!

Long time ago.. from the age of 12-17.. I danced with her in an African Traditional Troupe. (We did the dances from South Africa, Ghana, West Africa, Cuba and Brazil.) Also African American Dance (Jazz, Modern and Dance Theater we made up the stories to)... She is a former Katherine Dunham Dancer! She just happened to be the director of a dance studio where I took classes in Oakland. (I also took her dance class.. that I will remember.)

Guess I should go into the detail regarding the part where there was alot of Smoke and Vegetarianism. God Saved Me... It was Because I loved to dance and was particular about what I put into my body. Being an athlete you couldn't do drugs n such. I reminse about the over abundance of Ultra FINE Men Everywhere one looked... oh yeahhhh.. ohhh yeahhhh... Oh well that was a LONG TIME AGO. That's another story in itself. ME just beginning puberty and looking like I was 24.. (The song about being a "D" Cup is True.. except back then I was a "C" Cup! Those boys/young men constantly questioned.. HOW OLD ARE YOU??? They would rushed me home before Midnight... Musta been some pumpkin thing. Anyways.. I was always the youngest among the dancers for a LONG Time. Would you believe that has all changed in the past year's, since I am now the OLDEST in the MA Program.

Getting back to my friend...

Just seeing her gave me a quick flashback. I could see it clearly the day I ran into her on the street. (She's just a friend not my old roomate.) I read her Tarot Cards in my Dorm Room. It was during my Freshman Year in College at Art College. We talked half the night and interpreted each other's dreams the next morning... as I can recall.. what I told her is still coming true.. hehehe. You can imagine it brought back some really fond memories... Those were exciting times never a dull moment wherever you turned.

To make a long story short..

She's a famous Voodoun Priestess of Oshun

The goddess of love also known to many as Venus. ANY How... for those of you still spooked out by this sort of thing.. (The Media can be so insulting of indigenous peoples religions, especially when they don't know anything about them. Anyway.. there is ONE God.. and they believe the same.. ok it's the SAME God.. yes.. and Olodumare is his name.)

First, let me tell you that Voudoun is an ancient religion of Africa/South America/Cuba and the America's. Very closely related to the Catholic Faith (I was named after my Aunt who was a Nun!).. of which I am... Ok ok... I'm a Buddhist Priest too.. As Teish and I both confessed.. We just add on to what we naturally are. But most people just don't get it.

Funny thing is in my script writing class, I was writing a play about a Creole Saloon owner. Interesting NOTE that I started writing this play before I saw her on Sunday.

I'd like to continue talking about Teish but you can look her up on the net if your interested in that sort of thing. She's quite a facinating lady.. lecturer and from what I see.. she has numerous books available and has been on a wide variety of television shows including OPRAH!


I've been quite busy with my school work this week.. here is a quick recap.

OK That was My Week..
HOW Was Yours???

Gotta Go SLEEP!

Hugz n Lub, Bebe da FairyGodMum