September 21st 2004

Bio's and Dance Memories...

MORE BIO's

Continuing with my classmates at the New College.

Sorry, I REALLY don't mean to bore you with this Creative Education Thing-a-ma-Bob, but it is Just Sooo NEW, I'd like to share my experience. And I've got to make some Reference Points for my Sanity! So I first would like to offer you my Gratitude in being patient with all of this.

Below is a listing of additional students in the BA and MA Programs:

I'm REALLY Lovin This Eclectic Group!

I'm still getting to know everyone else in the department, and will post updates soon. As I will probably be referring to them in the near future. We have our first night of Yoga/Martial Arts/Modern Dance tomorrow night. Also, I think there is some other class, but I'm NOT quite sure what it is. When I find OUT I'll be SURE to let you know.. hehehe

TODAY's
Choreography/Composition & Modern Dance Classes went well.
Got 7 out of 10 answers right on the 1st AVID Test and my Tutorial Assignment was Approved.

I only had 1/2 hr to teach some girls the steps to my dance in choreography class today. But that's Okay.. we're going to rehearse again this Thursday. My modern dance teacher (L), poked her eye into the office this afternoon. Her #1 Student taught class today as the #2 demonstrated the moves.

Class just wasn't the same without her. Perhaps this girl was just nervous. Teaching a class with 50 students can be for the first time. She's a very sweet girl with a lovely personality and I'm sure as she matures she'll only get better with her teaching skills. Everyone is trying to keep the class together as it's going to be VERY difficult. I let the instructor know that these girls did a terrific job, IF she was anyone else I would have asked her if I could teach the class for a day or two. But she has a way of making distance between us. It's REALLY Uncanny as I consider her a friend and I honestly pray that she is completly healed. I spoke softly to her saying, IF there was anything I could do, please don't hesitate to ask.

She looked at me like
I was NUT's!

I feel she may be a bit threatened by my presence, as I have the notion that she thinks I want her job.. whereas that is NOT the case at all. The thing is.. one day she told us that she used to come and dance in the previous instructors (Paula's) classes because she Wanted her Job so Badly. I don't know how to say this, as the instuctor Whose CLASS she wanted, was a Long Time Friend/Teacher of Mine, (I'd known her since I was 18.) she passed away suddenly year before last and I didn't find out until a few months later.

When I dance in that SAME classroom today, I feel enthusiastic and can still hear her voice encouraging me as her favorite song echo's in my heart: Chaka Khan... "Ain't Nobody Love Me Better than Youuuuu". In tribute to "Paula" for my summer editing project, I found a video tape of a show we did 15 years ago at Berkeley High School where she used to teach. Put some overlay graphics with animation and highlighted her wonderfulness in dance. I continually have her name on my prayer list among many of my other dancer buddies. (Which is one reason why I decided to return to the dance floor.)

Anyway..
I believe that whatever is your's IS Already Your's! It is ONLY Ment for YOU, No One Else but YOU. No One Can Take This Away From You. When you impose your thoughts, actions or words to default someone else, the karma that entails can be brutal. I've seen it work in action.. and want NO part of that Retribution.

Regardless, the Modern Dance Teacher (L) is a quality person and honestly hope that she is healed. She does her best to be positive, and I was shocked this summer when she gave me an honest to goodness hug. I've studied with her for a year, and even in within this year she has kept a comfortable distance. This Past Spring Semester, I produced a DVD and Website for the Dance Department with my gratitude towards all of the past instuctors who have given me much encouragement. Although ONLY a few remain in the department from the days past. What they did for me in my career as a performer/choreographer/dancer is timeless.

On that Note... I'd like to say... You have to give Thanks to each and everyday that you live and breath. There is NO Moment Like the Present One. There will be no other point in time that is as REAL as This! Put out positive vibes to each and everyone you meet, no matter what.. and it will surely be returned to you 10 fold.

Hugz n Lub, Bebe da FairyGodMum